Date: Monday June 28, 2021
Time: 09:00 (EST) | 13:00 (GMT) | 15:00 (CET) | 16:00 (EAT) | 19:30 (IST)
Duration: 60 minutes
Language: English

ECDAN, UNICEF, WHO, Parenting for Lifelong Health and End Violence Against Children brought together partners in a webinar designed to elevate parenting and family support, so that every child, and their family, can receive the support they need for optimal development, thus building human capital in the first two decades of life. The event presented an inter-agency vision for scaling global support for parents and caregivers, along with a collective action framework and a call-to-action for governments, implementers, researchers, policymakers, and donors.

The evidence is clear: parents and the environment at home are central pillars in supporting children’s health and development. The quality of parenting practices is a key determinant of every child’s ability to develop their cognitive, emotional, and social potential and resilience against adversity.

This webinar contributed to attaining many SDG targets, including 4.2 on early childhood development and 16.2 on ending violence against children. UNICEF estimates that more than one billion children are at risk due to the increased isolation from school closures, the financial hardship of families, and the disruption of child protection, health, education, and other services through the pandemic. Intensified action and amplification of efforts is urgently needed.


Related links

Read the interagency vision: https://covidaction.ecdan.org/parenting
COVID-19 parenting resources: https://covidaction.ecdan.org/parenting