Date: Thursday September 23, 2021
Time: 08:00 (EDT) | 12:00 (GMT) | 14:00 (CEST) | 15:00 (EAT) | 17:30 (IST)
Duration: 90 minutes
Language: English
Download flyer
Watch the recording
View the slides

This webinar launched the Thematic Brief Nurturing care for every newborn. The brief summarizes why nurturing care is essential for every newborn to survive and thrive. It outlines the five components of nurturing care and contains examples of practical actions to create and strengthen nurturing environments for newborns, including those who are born too soon, small or sick.

What happens during early childhood lays the foundation for a lifetime. Evidence has demonstrated clearly that the first hours, days and weeks after birth - the newborn period - are a precious time for a child’s survival, health and development. Knowledge and tools are available to provide every newborn with nurturing care that involves parents and other caregivers directly. To create the enabling environment for providing developmentally supportive care, there is a need to invest in policies, health systems and community awareness. As more newborns survive, we now need to make sure that they also can thrive. This is especially important for small and sick babies who are at greater risk of mortality, illness or disability when deprived from quality care.

This webinar was organized by the World Health Organization and UNICEF in collaboration with the Network for Improving Quality of Care for Maternal, Newborn and Child Health, the Quality of Care subgroup of the Child Health Task Force, and the ECD Action Network. We give thanks to the over 500 participants from over 50 countries for joining the launch.

Welcome:
Olive Cocoman (Quality of Care Network Secretariat)

Part 1: What is nurturing care for every newborn

  • Introduction to the Thematic Brief
    Ornella Lincetto and Bernadette Daelmans (World Health Organization)
  • Infant and family centered developmental care explained
    Louise Tina Day (London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine)
  • A parent perspective
    Silke Mader (European Foundation for the Care of Newborn Infants)

Part 2: Creating nurturing environments for newborns
Facilitated by Bernadette DaelmansUnit Head Child Health and Development, World Health Organization

  • Lebanon: Care for child development in newborn services Lama Charafeddine (American University of Beirut, Division of Neonatology, Lebanon)
  • India: Influencing national policy and standards
    Arti Maria (RML Hospital, New Delhi, India)
  • Sweden: Making NICU’s infant and family-friendly
    Ylva Thernström Blomqvist (Uppsala University Children’s Hospital and Department of Women’s and Children’s Health, Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden)
  • The Philippines: Integrating developmentally supportive newborn care in the national health benefit package
    Socorro De Leon- Mendoza (Kangaroo Mother Care Foundation Philippines Inc.,)
  • Colombia: Sustaining kangaroo mother care during COVID-19 Nathalie Charpak (Fundación Canguro de Colombia)
Part 3: Questions and Answers
Facilitated by Sheila Manji, ECD Specialist Child Health and Development, World Health Organization

Part 4: Reflections from partners
Facilitated by Shekufeh Zonji, Global Technical Lead, ECD Action Network

  • Lily Kak (United States Agency for International Development)
  • Björn Westrup (Karolinska NIDCAP Training & Research Centre)
  • Joy Lawn (London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine)
  • Alison Morgan (Global Financing Facility Secretariat)
  • Neena Khadka (MOMENTUM Country and Global Leadership Program)

Closing remarks:
Facilitated by Bernadette Daelmans, Unit Head Child Health and Development, World Health Organization

  • Tedbabe Hailegebriel (UNICEF)
  • Anshu Banerjee (World Health Organization)

Additional information: 
© UNICEF/UN0378624/Mawa