Event Webinar Series: Strengthening Nurturing Care in Humanitarian Response
2: Programming in Action: Nurturing Care Integrated into National Health Systems
Date 18 October 2023
Time 13:00 UTC | 15:00 CET | 09:00 EST
Language(s) English, French, Spanish and Arabic
Location Online
©UNICEF/UN074825/Naftalin

Humanitarian actors are able to provide lifesaving services and interventions to meet young children’s holistic needs and help them buffer from the negative impact of emergencies and humanitarian crises; there is strong evidence favoring the implementation of equitable, comprehensive, and integrated programs that translate into better outcomes for young children affected by emergencies and humanitarian crises. 

Description

Building on the above, this webinar presented examples of age-appropriate interventions where nurturing care approaches have been successfully integrated into health responses and systems, significantly shaping responsive caregiving, early learning, adequate nutrition, good health, and protection of children, which are critical for children's healthy development.

This strengthened participants' understanding of the holistic nature of young children's needs and the features of quality responses that are responsive and sensitive to those needs by integrating nurturing care approaches.

Moderators and Panellists

  • Inter-agency Network for Education in Emergencies: Maria Benavides
  • UNICEF: Eduardo Garcia Rolland (New York), Sanjay Kumar Das (Myanmar), Andrea Yesenia Palencia SanJuan (Colombia), and Melanie Galvin (Afghanistan)
  • Aga Khan Health Services: Dalal Alhamwy (Syria)
  • Child Health in Emergencies and Humanitarian Settings sub-group (CHiHES): Ayesha Kadir, Senior Humanitarian Health Advisor, Save the Children International

Related Links

First webinar in the series
Third webinar in the series
Global Health Cluster page
Webinar 2 Flyer
Health Cluster YouTube channel, with recordings of all three webinars in the series